Harsh DWI Laws in Texas Lead to Severe Penalties for Those Convicted of a DUI

Harsh DWI Laws in Texas Lead to Severe Penalties for Those Convicted of a DUI

Driving under the influence is a poor decision to make, but it happens. Whether a person has had just a little to drink and doesn’t think they’re over the limit or they’ve had way too much and no longer have the ability to think clearly to make the right choice, they can be arrested. At this point, they’ll want to make sure they hire a lawyer who knows the DWI Laws in Texas well.

Basic DUI Penalties in Texas

A first DUI in Texas is a Class B misdemeanor. This means the penalties can include 72 hours to 180 days in jail, up to $2,000 in fines, and 90 to 365 days with a suspended license. Penalties can also include being required to install an IID (interlock ignition device) or having to take a driving education course before obtaining their license again. 

What Causes Higher Penalties?

If the person already has a DUI conviction on their record, had a BAC (blood alcohol content) of .15 or higher, or caused an accident while they were driving under the influence, the penalties can be significantly higher. They can also be higher if the person had a minor in the vehicle with them or they committed other crimes at the same time. Depending on the case, this means even a first offense can lead to significant penalties if the person also caused an accident or had a minor in the vehicle with them. 

Fighting a DUI Charge

It is possible to avoid a conviction or to minimize the penalties a person faces after an arrest. They can hire a lawyer who might be able to do quite a bit to help have the charges dismissed. If this isn’t possible, the lawyer might try to have the charges lowered or might simply work on helping the person receive minimal penalties if they’re convicted of a DUI. To find out what the lawyer can do, the person will want to speak with them as quickly as possible and before they speak with the police or anyone else about their situation. 

If you’ve been arrested and charged with a DUI or related offense, contact a lawyer as quickly as possible. They’ll review your case and discuss what you might expect if you hire them to handle your case for you. 

Comments are closed.